Happenings: Ed Sheeran Live in Manila 2015

How do I even begin to describe Ed Sheeran’s show in Manila?

I wasn’t planning to blog about this because I don’t really have that much funny kwento other than ate iPad wearing cat ears (SURE KA BA SA PINUNTAHAN MONG CONCERT ATE) who basically ruined a few people’s experience (including us – but not totally) with her tablet and pink cover (seriously). But overall, if I may borrow from Ed’s (ED???) words from his Roundhouse gig in 2014, the whole show was a “big, climactic, orgasm of music.”

Ed nailed it. And damn f we didn’t leave the arena with a satisfied smile on our faces.

Meg Ryan's fake orgasm scene in When Harry Met Sally

Ed Sheeran (who, for the sake of this blog post, I will also refer to as bibiluv) came out onstage with no drama whatsoever. The lights dimmed, the bagets ran in front of the stage and blocked the VIP-ers view (including Nikki Gil’s who is so beautiful in person), Ed’s crew started setting up, then he just went out and started to sing I’m a Mess. No countdown! We didn’t even had the chance to prepare diretso freak out. S HE T.

Vince, Kelly, me, and Carla before the freak out
Vince, Kelly, me, and Carla before the freak out

Every song has its own moment. Alam mo ‘yung every concert at some point in the middle, it’s will just go flat. But there was no plateau performance. Everything just kept on building and building and building and building until you explode in the end! The setlist technically ended with Give Me Love. Sabi pa ni bibiluv, “This is technically my last song. I said technically, Manila. The rest is up to you.”

Acheche! Okay the concert ended with Sing and while the audience was still singing, Ed walked out of the stage. You sly devil, you.

Ed Sheeran performing in ManilaEd Sheeran Live in Manila

The visuals behind him helped but bonus na lang, ganon. All he really needed are his guitar, his loop station, and his charming, talented self.  I know I said every performance was great but I did have some favorites! I loved it when the audience lighted the arena during Photograph which Ed didn’t really request. I think this prompted his decision to play All of the Stars even when it’s not in the setlist. Lego House, You Need Me I Don’t Need You, Tenerife Sea, plus Bloodstream and Give Me Love‘s build up. Intense.

The A-team also deserves a spot mainly because of this:

Flickering lights!
Flickering lights!

Kaunti lang ang chika moments and my bibiluv just kept on singing and singing. He did say that we gave him the BEST reception so far and that he’s considering to stay.

Ed: This is honestly, hand on heart, the best reception I’ve ever received, ever.

Me: WEHHHHHHHHHH WAG MO KAMING PAASAHIN!

This is the only concert that I screamed “TAKE ME WITH YOU!!!” and meant it. So far ha. Wait natin ang One Direction next week. Also, I have never screamed, sang, and danced (he turned me into Taylor Swift) in a concert as much as I did that night.

Excuse me while I gush about Ed Sheeran for the rest of my life.

Ed Sheeran Live in Manila
Should this be the last thing I see, I want you to know it’s enough for me. Cos all that you are is all that I’ll ever need.
3 thoughts on “Happenings: Ed Sheeran Live in Manila 2015”

Leave a Reply

