‘YUN PALA MEANING NON: Rated SPG songs edition

When I was still an innocent little girl (innocent pa rin naman ako until now HAHA WEH okay settle down guys), I used to watch legit MTV. Like a lot. I grew up in a world where music videos dominated my everyday life. To the point na I want to be a VJ like Donita Rose! Remember MTV Most Wanted? BEST. SHOW. EVER.

Anyway, I was talking to an officemate about this song Sway. Sabi nya the song was banned daw in their high school due to sexual content. And I was like, wtf? Kailan pa naging bastos ang Sway? I just concluded na baka yung teacher nyang nagban non ay may bad memories sa Sway. Ayoko na syang i-judge.

Naalala ko tuloy ang kabataan ko. When I was singing to Spice Girls’ songs, malay ko bang may sexual content yung ibang songs nila?? I thank my parents for not banning me to watch MTV or listen to the following songs because diba at least nung tumanda ako alam nating lahat na natuto akong mag-analyze??!! CHOS LANG HI PARENTS!!! Love you! Thank you for letting me figure things out! ❤

So guys, I present you the songs I listened to during the late ’90s and early 2000s na *gulp* RATED SPG PALA! Sabi nga ni mareng Kim Chiu: I’M SARRY! Not.

Don’t Say You Love Me – M2M

The song is basically about MOMOL but at least the singer is still wise enough not to go too fast. You know?

Got introduced to you by a friend / You were cute and all that baby you set the trend / Next thing I know, we’re down at the cinema / Sitting there you start kissing me / WHAT’S THAT ABOUT??!!!”

Ang funny dito, it’s the freaking OST of Pokemon: The Movie. Say whut? To be fair, the Pokemon lyrics version was “You said you love me, what’s that about?” Medyo wholesome pero next level.

Ang mas funny pa dito, kailangan kapag kinakanta ko ‘to nung grade 3 ako e ipit din ang boses ko ala M2M. I took pride in that and sa pandinig ko, kaboses ko sila. Sa mga kaklase ko? FORGET IT! NEXT!

Genie in a Bottle – Christina Aguilera

Aahh, Xtina’s first single! I remember the first time I saw her and this music video. Nahirapan akong magpronounce! I actually thought banda si Christina Aguilera and Britney Spears. Haha daming backup dancers e sarry! Anyway, LYRICS!

I’m a genie in a bottle baby / You gotta rub in the right way honey

Am I reading too much into it? Ewan ko lang ha. But in all fairness ulit, she’s smart. I mean, at least she’s going with her gut.

Ooohhhhh, my body’s saying let’s go / Oooohhhh, but my heart’s saying no

I really like this song! Lalo na yung “oohhhh” part sobrang #sensual1999!

So Slow – Freestyle

Pwede bang walang OPM?? I love Freestyle! Their concert is the first one I went to. Guess where? Sa Argem Coliseum AKA sabungan! At least wala kami sa cockpit. Sa labas lang. Front act pa nila si Tina Paner. Ang sosyal!

Again, malay ko bang tungkol sa sex ‘to. My mother’s listening to it all the time. Lagi naman akong bumibirit never akong nasita! Which I think is okay because the singer is abstaining from sex. Good for you, Jinky!

Dapat pinapakinggan ‘to ng kids ngayon cos it really sends the message. Like, abstain guys and gurls! But be warned for you will have moments of weakness:

But sometimes I feel like giving you more than just a kiss

WHOA GURL!

Too Close – Next

Ang ganda ganda ng beat ng kantang ‘to guys pero grabe ang laswa! Haha!

Mas wholesome yung sa Blue pero I chose this kasi ito naman yung original. (I bet ‘yung mga bagets di alam na revival lang ‘yung sa Blue!) Grabe ‘yung:

I feel a little poke coming through on you!!!

at saka ‘yung:

You’re making it hard for me

Sobrang #graphic1997.

My All – Mariah Carey

Ay nako guys madami akong #feels dito. Back in 1997, suking suki ‘to sa MTV. I can still picture Mimi lying down on that giant kabibe. Saka I felt the longing kahit dati pa. Alam mo ‘yung I understand and felt the feeling at 6 freaking years old??!!

Only Mimi can do it. Only Mimi.

I’m not sure but is this song about infidelity? Or just long distance relationship? Basta alam ko lang she’ll give her all to have just one more night with the person.

I’d risk my life to feel your body next to mine

I love it. Favorite ko rin ‘tong i-lip sync. Daming hagod. Mga 1381.

2 Become 1 – Spice Girls

I looked up to the Spice Girls and syempre ako si Baby Spice cos I am still a baby u know? I freaking love singing to 2 Become 1! Imagine my horror when in 2005, I chanced upon the song on the radio and finally deciphered its meaning. SHET? Wanna make love to you beybeh? Bulong pa yan ha! So #sensual1996.

But at least the song was advocating safe sex. Case in point:

Be a little bit wiser, baby / Put it on, put it on

Omg

Also guys, akala ko nung una like the Spice Girls is teaching me about Math. Thinking about it now, 2 become 1??? HUH? Problem solving keme?

Horny – Mouse T. feat. Hot ‘n’ Juicy

I REST MY CASE.

_______________________________________

What about you? What songs kayo napa-YUN PALA MEANING NON???!!!

Love you guys like a love song! ❤

2 thoughts on “‘YUN PALA MEANING NON: Rated SPG songs edition”

  1. Walang tatalo sa Come on Get Higher ~ Matt Nathanson Super epic yung bridge coz when you sing it:

    Hold on, hold on, hoooold ooooon wooooooh
    subtitle: Rak na ituuuu!!!

    #MindBlown2008 Hahahaha!

Leave a Reply

