Bookmarked: Fangirl

DISCLAIMER: Wait do I need to put a disclaimer? Don’t read it you don’t want to be spoiled! Not sure if this is spoiler-ish but I’m not taking my chances. I fucking hate spoilers and I refuse to be one!

It’s been a year since I last wrote a Bookmarked entry! Fyi lang, it doesn’t mean that I haven’t been reading. Ok well I haven’t been reading as much as I did last year. I guess I was just waiting for something that is going to be as special as Norwegian Wood… Something that will make me feel intense feelings. Norwegian Wood was a tough act to follow. It is now ranked really high, as my all-time favorite reads.

I decided to blog about this because it’s close to who I am. WHAAAAAAAT??!! Yes.

I discovered Rainbow Rowell this year through Eleanor & Park. I loved the novel and immediately looked for her other works. Imagine my delight when I found out that she has a novel titled Fangirl.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Finished reading Fangirl on the day before Christmas, in Starbucks. How fitting. The only thing missing is my gingerbread latte (cos I ordered Peppermint Mocha). And my Levi.

I bought this with my bf Sosep (not my boyfriend, just my best boy friend just to clear it out). Upon purchase he told me, “THIS IS SO YOU.”

I am a self-proclaimed professional fangirl. WOW??!! Hahaha! But seriously, it’s one of the few things I know that I’m good at. Or the only thing I’m sure I’m good at… Anyway, you know how when other people ask you to describe yourself? Like in those slumbooks? If ever I’ll answer one today, that’s what I will put – “Fangirl Extraordinaire” GANDARA PARK! I’ll put that in my LinkedIn profile. Paki-endorse ako.

I’ve been fangirling since… I don’t know, like when boybands came out and that was like 1997? I was six years old for crying out loud. I remember I fangirl-ed so hard over The Moffatts. I especially liked Scott with those long blonde locks and brown highlights.

scott-moffatt

What a stud.

ANYWAY, Fangirl is a story about Cath Avery and her life as a college freshman, daughter, twin sister, and (most importantly) a Simon Snow fan. I expected the book to be everything about Cath’s fangirl life. Only, it focused on her struggles in her family and school as she kept her fangirl self intact; as a way to escape from it all. Rainbow Rowell didn’t have to write Cath as a screaming, giddy, constantly enthusiastic person about Simon Snow to make her seem like a die hard fan. She just is. It came off easy, normal.

What I’m trying to say is, FEEL NA FEEL KO SI CATH. I cried when she did, felt happy for her when she’s in her element, and even happier when she gradually found herself outside of Simon Snow’s shadow.

And because padeep talaga ako in nature, I guess what the story is trying to tell its readers (may interpretation talaga ako, huwag ka) is that, time is gold.

Hehehehe joke lang!!! I can say that being a fangirl of something or someone can definitely consume your life. It’s not that it’s bad cos we could all use a little inspiration. However, too much of it is unhealthy. There is a life outside the fan bubble. DON’T BE TRAPPED!!!

SEE? Pwede na ba akong adviser for fangirls and boys???

DSC_0073

Relevant ang picture na ito ni Joseph Gordon-Levitt cos he is my Simon Snow.

Also, I did a little fangirling over Rainbow Rowell via twitter that I just had to share:

rainbow-rowell-tweet  rainbow-rowell-tweet2

Cool diba??!!

Before I close this entry, let me leave with you with this:

“Happily ever after, or even just together ever after, is not cheesy,” Wren said. “It’s the noblest, like, the most courageous thing two people can shoot for.”

So bakit ko ‘to shinare? Wala lang. Favorite quote ko ‘yan sa book.

I’m a fangirl. And I’m proud to be one. Yikeeeee! Happy holidays everyone!!! Happy reading! ❤

3 thoughts on “Bookmarked: Fangirl”

Leave a Reply

