Questions

“What do you think happens when a person dies?”

“What do you mean?”

“I don’t know… I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately… Like, where do we go when we die? Where will I go?”

“Like some sort of heaven and hell, you mean?”

“Maybe. Or maybe souls just wander the earth in general. Or do we even have a soul?”

“…”

“When my heart stops beating, will I turn to dust? Will I just be completely removed off the earth? Or like some astral projection whatever, I’ll see myself move away from my body and leave it. And then go around? Watch people?”

“…”

“Some say there is a heaven, right? That if we do good in this world, we’ll get the ‘reward’ and stay in paradise for all eternity. What if my paradise is right here? With my family, and friends, my music and movies and books, and all things I love?”

“…”

“I sometimes wonder what will people remember me by when I’m gone. And who will actually go to my funeral. I think that’s some sort of… validation that I DID something good. And that my existence actually made sense.”

“…”

“I hope Lola can see this. I hope she can see and feel how much we love her… how much these people love her. Wherever she is, I hope she’s happy.”

“Yeah…”

“You didn’t talk much.”

“Honestly? I don’t want to think about it.”

Leave a Reply

