Pick-Me-Upper of the Week: Bawat Daan (and a little bit of kwento about Sa Wakas)

I’ve been hooked to this song ever since the first time I heard it. Bawat Daan was written by Ebe Dancel specially for Sa Wakas, a new pinoy rock musical featuring the songs of Sugarfree. I fell in love with the lyrics. This is got to be one of Ebe’s greatest works. The words are downright beautiful and could be interpreted in different ways. FEELINGS~

I watched Sa Wakas on its opening show last April 13. This kwento might contain spoilers so read at your own risk!

Whenone of my college bestfriends asked me if we could watch the show, I was hesitant at first. But what the hell, since I’m a sucker for Sugarfree and love stories I might as well give it a shot. What pushed me to watch Sa Wakas was its Tulog Na teaser. The arrangement gave me goosebumps and oo, naluha ako. Honggoleng!

The plot was simple. Your typical relationship story with all the twists and turns, and self-discovery shiz. The story was told backwards which reminded me of Coldplay’s The Scientist. It was sort of confusing especially after the 15-minute interval but overall, the treatment worked well. I guess it’s the production’s way of letting the story have its happy ending. It still left me sad though. Affected! Charot!

IMG_7386

The musical arrangements did not disappoint. Ejay Yatco did a terrific job in adding theatrical touches to the songs without losing the Sugarfree feel. As a Sugarfree fan, I’m happy with what he came up with. (Is there a way for me to purchase/download the Sa Wakas arrangements? I really want a copy) The One More Chance references also did me in. Ano ba Popoy and Basha 4evz! I was sighing, swooning, and irritated in all the right parts. In other words, grabehan sa feelings. Parang “kuya, wag ganon!” levels.

Sa Wakas will have their last three shows this weekend so better watch it while you still can! 🙂 You can buy your tickets here.

2 thoughts on “Pick-Me-Upper of the Week: Bawat Daan (and a little bit of kwento about Sa Wakas)”

Leave a Reply

