Bookmarked: Norwegian Wood

Norwegian Wood is my first Murakami read. Needless to say, I fell in love with every turn of the page. I couldn’t put it down. At the same time, I didn’t want it to end.

It’s a beautiful tale about the hopelessness of one’s first love, coping with loss, grief, and life. It is so beautifully written that it felt like I walked with Toru down memory lane. It’s been a while since I read a book that is so rich with scenery and depth.

Memory is a funny thing. When I was in the scene, I hardly paid it any mind. I never stopped to think of it as something that would make a lasting impression, certainly never imagined that eighteen years later I would recall it in such detail. I didn’t give a damn about the scenery that day. I was thinking about myself. I was thinking about the beautiful girl walking next to me. I was thinking about the two of us together, and then about myself again. It was the age, that time of life when every sight, every feeling, every thought came back, like a boomerang, to me. And worse, I was in love. Love with complications.

The story made me want to understand each and every character’s situation and what they are going through. To let them know that they have a friend, or just someone to count on, during their good and bad days. It made me want to lend an ear and shoulder, to be the person who they can talk to. In this life, we need at least one person to be there for us whenever we need them.  Someone who will wait patiently and stay. Someone who will understand, go past our weaknesses and bad choices, and love us anyway.

3 thoughts on “Bookmarked: Norwegian Wood”

Leave a Reply

