Bookmarked: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

A story that consists of a bookstore, a red Moleskine journal, the holidays, two people meeting by chance and choice, and mornings – Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares is easily marked as a personal favorite.

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares and my own red notebook!

Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy?

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares is about two teenagers who met through a red moleskine journal left at a shelf in Strand. This book of dares was passed back and forth and easily became a shared medium of Dash & Lily’s deepest thoughts, fears, and hopes. Who would have thought you can find comfort in some stranger’s words?

This is my favorite among all Cohn-Levithan works. It’s a light read but with a lot of substance.

“I want to believe that even though I hope for things that are so magnanimous (good OED word, huh?), I am not a bad person because what I really want to believe in is purely selfish. I want to believe there is somebody out there just for me. I want to believe that I exist to be there for that somebody.” – Lily

“We believe in the wrong things. That’s what frustrates me the most. Not the lack of belief, but the belief in wrong things. You want meaning? Well the meanings are out there. We’re just so damn good at reading them wrong.” – Dash

How they connected through this red notebook fascinated me. I guess the red notebook made these two strangers open up without fear of being judged. The story made me believe in hope, in soul mates, and in the beauty of companionship in words.

Also, Dash & Lily’s story says a lot about how the choices we make and the chances we take affect us. It’s not enough to leave everything in fate and destiny because in the end, what we do about what is presented to us will ultimately decide on what lies ahead.

Accept challenges, spice up your life. In the words of Rachel Cohn, the reward is in the risk. Indeed.

4 thoughts on “Bookmarked: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares”

  1. BFF! I’m reading the book now and I just realized you have a red moleskin too! oooohh. this must be destiny. CHOSERA. 😀

Leave a Reply

