Bookmarked: The Hunger Games Trilogy

Disclaimer: This is not a book review. Please don’t get too confused.

I first heard of The Hunger Games when I was in college. It’s almost graduation and I saw my then-couple friends in National Bookstore. I think at the time, they were looking for the second or the third book. They kind of mentioned about it, raving about its goodness, and I somehow… ignored it. Maybe because getting a new book was the least of my priorities (thesis was giving me hell) then. And if it was, I was planning to read The Perks Of Being A Wallflower. Which I did buy after I submitted my thesis. Totally irrelevant information.

I decided to finally buy it just last December 2011. My college friend and office mate JM was itching to read it because of the reviews. Also because the movie’s coming out on March 23 (next week). He “panic bought” all three books because, according to him, stocks are pretty low and I better go get ’em while they are still available. So I visited the bookstore right away and saw piles and piles of the three books. Wala nang stock, huh? I bought the first book anyway, but didn’t read it ’til February.

I know, I know. I finished two books first before I proceeded with The Hunger Games!

The book’s karma worked its way to me because by the time I opened the book, I couldn’t put it down.

It’s a light read. I finished all three books in three weeks, one week for each. I’m not a slow reader, it’s just that I want to savor every word and page! I don’t want it to end. Why can’t it be like Harry Potter with 7 books? Okay fine, I know that would be torture. Prolonging the Districts’ agony and all. Hahaha!

As for the writing style, it’s fit for the young adults (which is Suzanne Collins’ target audience). Given that it’s in the first POV, it gives the reader a sense of ‘belongingness’ with the book. It’s as if I’m also there, experiencing these emotions and thinking the same thoughts with Katniss. The hanging endings every chapter is very effective as well. It makes you want to turn the pages until there’s nothing left. See, I read books sometimes to tire my eyes so I can fall asleep instantly. Wrong move with this book. It kept me up until around 4am! I also commend Collins’ choice of character names. I have a thing for names and this book gave me a lot of options to name my future unborn child. Kidding! Katniss, Primrose, Peeta, and Rue where my favorites.

Collins has a way with words as well. No wonder why she’s a writer. If you’re my friend, you must know that I’m a sucker for quotes! Here are my top three picks from the trilogy:

1. “I am not pretty. I am not beautiful. I am as radiant as the sun.” – The Hunger Games

2. “Desperate, yet no longer alone after that day because we’d found each other.” – Catching Fire

3. “Frankly, I could use a little sugarcoating.” – Mockingjay

These made me feel that I’m a like Katniss in some ways.

What the book also offered is the different sides of different people. I’ve grown attached the characters, thanks to the disturbing events happening every freaking chapter. It came to a point where I was worried and if I could rewrite the book, I’ll let them all live and be merry. But that wouldn’t have the same impact of course! So I let it go, and let things be. (crying inside)

I finished reading all three books just yesterday — while I was in a bus, on a field trip with giddy and excited children. I was crying, my heart was sinking, and I was in pain. I’m heart broken, but I was left hopeful. I was traumatized, scarred for life. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t have the ending any other way. I just hope Collins kind of ‘lingered’ if you will, to the end. And not end the book abruptly. Nonetheless, the book left me nightmares.

In other words,Β feel na feel ko okay. Can you blame me, though? (I sound a bit crazy)

I don’t need to promote the book and recommend for you, my dear blog visitors (if you exist), to read the trilogy because I’m pretty sure you have an idea on what it has to offer. What I will recommend is for you to READ it and not settle to just watch it. Cos FYI, it’ll be premiering in cinemas next week. Hurray!

This is one game you’ll love to hate, and will hate to miss.
May the odds be ever in your favor!

4 thoughts on “Bookmarked: The Hunger Games Trilogy”

  1. I forgot when I started reading (and finished) The Hunger Games trilogy, but I remember feeling empty and sad and confused and wanting more after. I then bugged my sister to read it so I can have someone to talk to regarding the sad, exciting and awesome parts of the story. I was a little bit disappointed with the movie but I still think it was good. Looking out for Catching Fire πŸ™‚

    Have a nice day!

    1. I think Mockingjay is worst book in the trilogy. 😦 I felt the same thing after reading it! I finished it in the bus, during my little brother’s field trip. Nakakaloka. Wala akong mapaglabasan ng sama ng loob.

      Thanks for dropping by my blog! πŸ™‚ Grabe nagbrowse ka talaga nahiya naman ako ng kaunti. Chos :p

      1. Ang saya ng mga posts mo e. Baka mga one time pag tinatamad akong magtrabaho e dun ako tatambay sa travel page mo, hihihi.

Leave a Reply

