If I could be

If I could be another version of myself, I want to be that girl who is brave. One who is brave enough to go after what she wants in life, regardless of how impractical it may be. No matter how hard it would be

I want to be that girl who thinks that money doesn’t matter. That earning a lot of money does not entail happiness… or the one who doesn’t regard owning this and that will make her satisfied. That girl who doesn’t care about what other people say.

“You graduated with honors, huwag kang kukuha ng trabaho na mababa ang sweldo.”

The thing is, in what I want to do, mababa talaga ang sweldo ‘don.

I want to be that girl who’s willing to take the risk.

I want to be her so bad.

If I could be her, I would gladly take a job with minimum pay but where I can interact with people — not through corporate meetings where we talk about business, but through conversations where we talk about their lives and dreams for their families.

If I could be her, I would be focusing on children’s education and well-being. Maybe I could teach them how to read, and write, and be better people when they grow up. Or I could focus on the environment, or maybe start organizing a livelihood project for a community.

If I could be her, I will walk away and leave this behind. And be where I want to be to become the person I want to become.

I know I will be her. Someday. One day.

Leave a Reply

